all-lit-up-again_l

Photo credit: Thomas Hawk / Foter / CC BY-NC

This morning while working on one of three of my WIPs, the paranormal romance, a light bulb went off in my head.  I realized that my expectations for this story were way to big for the limits that I placed on it an myself.

About WIP: PR (original plans):

  • Originally a NaNoWrio 2012 Project
  • 60,000 word limit
  • 25 Chapters
  • Complete by January 15th

This should have been all doable.  But I am a procrastinator, slacker and a horrible planner.

The Reality:

  • 60,000 words is not going to complete the story as is.  It’s just too complex with too many elements.
  • Again 25 Chapters is not realistic for the scope that I have set for myself
  • Finish by January 15th… In my dreams. I’ll be lucky if I finish by the end of February.  Yes, it is that bad.

As you can see I have a lot to think about and some decisions that need to be made about WIP: PR.

Not much of a light bulb moment you say.  Well, her is the light bulb moment.

WIP: PR was originally suppose to be part of a four part series surround a set of brothers.  My original attention was to have each story highlight each female lead and one of the brothers.  Add in some kind of drama and done.

But WP: PR (I really have to think up another name for it), is not behaving.  There are three elements in it that are making it hard to contain it to just one book.  The female lead issues, the male lead has issues, and the pack (I did mention that the paranormal element was werewolves didn’t I) has issues.

Issues:

  • Female Lead Issues:  Can be solved in one book.  Her issues aren’t that dramatic but I can make them more interesting and action filled.
  • Male Lead Issues:  Cannot be solved in one book.  He has a whole lot of history and has a company to run.  He’s rather complicated.  I need more than one book to wrap up his life and send him to HEA land.
  • Pact Issues: Is a wolf pack ever without issues?   I can drag there issues out for as long as I need to and create more if necessary.

The light bulb went off when I realized that I am going to have to make WIP: PR three separate parts by itself (I know kind of confusing).  So, instead of having four books in the series, where each book focus on one brother, I could stretch it out a lot.

Solution:

  • Brother 1: Story will be told in three parts.
  • Brother 2 – 4: No idea.

Yep, that is my solution.

All I know is that to make this work and for me to be happy with this WIP I have to draw it out.  I am not a huge fan of insta-love or endings where everything just seems to magically fall into place.

I don’t like that as a reader and I refuse to do that to anyone else (if this even sees the light of day.

For now, I am going to continue WIP: PR and hope to finish it sometime in February.  During the revision process, I will work out all the kinks and get it under control.  I just want to be able to write THE END.

