Tags

, , ,

“This is different.”

Crystal found the family ran taqueria charming. There was an authenticity his favorite hipster places were unsuccessful at achieving. She found something new in the bright paint on the mural covering the wall every time she ate there.

“Is that good or bad?”

Instead of answering his eyes roamed the place, taking in every dust bunny trapped in the corners. She watched him. Hoping he’d appreciate something there, like she did in the dark mix of unmatched funiture lights billed “New Orleans” style beer bar his friends like to frequent.

“I’m leaving.”

Deon head was turned and the low music blended with the pound of pots in the kitchen made her think she misheard. Crystal couldn’t imagine that he would declare something so unexpected and not make eye contact with her.

“I have four maybe six weeks to settle things here.”

Crystal fold her hands in her lap occupying herself with twisting the bracelet he brought her around her arm.

Was she one of the “things” he had to settle?

“It’s a great opportunity for me.”

She just started to think in terms of them and Deon still thought in terms of him.

“Crystal.” The forcefulness in Deon’s voice would have normally made her look at him.

The rubbing of the beads against her arm was reassuring.

“We can make this work.”

Crystal mumbled to herself not glancing up, “Love will find a way.”

Author’s Note: Today is the last day of the challenge.  I have no idea what I am going to do with Crystal and Deon. But I think I am going to take a break from them for now.  They may or may not appear on the blog again. I had fun exploring them and I learned a lot through this process, blog post coming about it soon.

